o/t: leisure reading in November

I decided to devote this month to reading fiction in translation, and for the most part had a moderately good time, the standout being Sascha Arango’s The Truth and Other Lies (thanks to Mrs Peabody for my copy of this splendidly twisty novel), though Claudia Piñeiro’s All Yours ran it a damn’ close second. I’d expected to make inroads into my hefty backlog of Scandinoir, including several Jo Nesbo titles, but in fact I barely touched them.

The links are as usual to my Goodreads notes.

 

2 thoughts on “o/t: leisure reading in November

  1. I like this idea, dedicating a month to reading translated works.

    Not that it matters, but the only Alexandre Dumas book I’ve read is “The Three Musketeers”. I’m afraid I got very little out of it, even with the scholarly notes in the back, but I did like the way “equipment” was translated as “equipments”. I’ve been using the word “equipments” ever since.

    • I’m actually very fond of translated fiction — it helps me think outside the usual framework without my having to work too hard at it!

      I think I was still at school the last time I read (or tried to) any Dumas. I enjoyed this taster but it gave me no great urge to go and read more.

      I like the “equipments” usage too.

Leave a Reply

