o/t: leisure reading in June

I decided June would be Brits Month, and I’ve enjoyed it enough that I think July will be likewise (although perhaps adopting “British Isles” as my definer, since I have an unread Tana French novel luring me). At the start of June I wasn’t really thinking about Brexit; now, my reading of so many UK novels in a row puts me in a sort of requiem mood.

The links are to my usually hasty Goodreads notes.

Yes, I know O’Brien is Irish, but she’s lived in London for decades and is a pillar of the UK literary establishment.

 

4 thoughts on “o/t: leisure reading in June

  1. I just finished All the Light We Cannot See and – oh dear. Was not wild about it. Found it a grind, in fact. Have you read it?

    Happily, I discovered a thriller writer from the 1940s, Charlotte Armstrong, whose novel The Unsuspected was, as you know, was made into a film starring the fab Claude Rains!

    • I just finished All the Light We Cannot See and – oh dear. Was not wild about it. Found it a grind, in fact. Have you read it?

      No. In fact, I know virtually nothing about it — I had to go look it up in Wikipedia!

      I’ve had mixed experiences with Armstrong, although I love the movie adaptation you mention: The UNSUSPECTED (1947).

Leave a Reply

