o/t: February leisure reading

One of the novels I’d much looked forward to disappointed me a very great deal, so in the end I abandoned it. The ones that I finished I found, in general, very rewarding. Here’s the list, with the links being to my often scrappy (note that “s,” dammit!) on Goodreads:

The Newton Letter by John Banville
The Secret in Their Eyes by Eduardo Sacheri (trans John Cullen)
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (trans Alison Anderson)
So You Don’t Get Lost in the Neighborhood by Patrick Modiano (trans Euan Cameron)
M. Hire’s Engagement by Georges Simenon (trans Daphne Woodward)
The Lola Quartet by Emily St. John Mandel
Album Leaf (vt The Spider in the Cup) by Marjorie Bowen (writing as Joseph Shearing)
A Stranger Like You by Elizabeth Brundage
A Midnight Carol: A Novel of How Charles Dickens Saved Christmas by Patricia K. Davis
Three to Kill by Jean-Patrick Manchette (trans Donald Nicholson-Smith)

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “o/t: February leisure reading

  1. Hurrah! I am so glad you loved The Secret in Their Eyes. It made my end-of-year round-up as my fave ‘crime’ read of 2015. If anything, I think I preferred it to the original Argentinian film adaptation on account of the focus on the bond between Chaparro and Morales. Another of Sacheri’s novels has been translated into English, but it’s not a crime story – let’s hope we see more from him in the future.

  2. Hmmm, so you know that I’m going to be wondering forevermore which one you were looking forward to and then abandoned… put me out of my misery, pretty please?

    • I’d feel a bit guilty about doing that in public — not much fun for publisher and translator (the author’s dead). If you’re desperate, I’ll email the info.

  3. I wanted to love “The Elegance of the Hedgehog”, I really did. It had a great premise and great ideas, but in the end I felt “meh” about it. The thing is, whenever I see it in a bookstore, I pick it up and say, “Oh right. I read this one.”

    Not that it matters, but right now I’m reading “A Man called Ove” by Fredrik Backman. Absolutely love it. Can’t put it down!

    • That was more or less my own reaction Hedgehog — a great disappointment, too, because I so much liked the movie.

      Thanks for the Backman recommendation. I’ll go look it up.

Leave a Reply

