o/t: leisure reading in November

Another fairly meager month’s worth of reading, at least in terms of the number of books read. This was supposed to be British Isles Month for me, but I wasn’t long into the month before a UK publisher asked me if I’d like to read and do a cover quote for their new edition of a Greek novel. I enjoyed the book, but it was quite long — one of the reasons, I think, for the paucity of titles below.

The links are as always to my GoodReads notes. (I do wish GoodReads wouldn’t call them “reviews.” It’s embarrassing. For the most part my GoodReads entries are dashed off in haste. When I’m reviewing, I do make more effort to ensure that I’m, like, writing a bit gooder.)

Innocent Victims by Minette Walters
Sunfail by Steven Savile
Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains by Catriona McPherson
The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan
What Lot’s Wife Saw by Ioanna Bourazopoulou
The Last Kashmiri Rose by Barbara Cleverly

So: 4 by female authors, 2 by the bruter contingent, and, for obvious reasons, just the one in translation. December was to be Stonkers Month (trying to clear some of the books that are so intimidatingly ‘normous that they tend to get left on the shelf), but I think what I’m going to do is extend the British Isles focus for an extra month and maybe incorporate a couple of Stonkers into it: Charles Palliser, I’m thinking of you . . .

5 thoughts on “o/t: leisure reading in November

    • I’m not sure there’s actually a competition, but I’d imagine just about everyone beat me in the “numbers game” this past month. MarinaSofia, for example, seems to have read just about the entire contents of the British Library, plus annexe.

  1. This aspect of your productivity is always what has me in awe. It is one thing for a person to pile up some films, but reading takes the real perseverance. I do salute you, John!

    • I don’t know why you say this, Sam. I’ve been reading several books a month since childhood, usually novels. Likewise both my first and second wives . . . and my daughter, who’s in turn teaching the habit to her son. If you think I read a lot, seek out the blogger MarinaSofia, who not only reads about four times as much as I do but does so in multiple languages!

Leave a Reply

