o/t: antepenultimate update on the Wonders in the Dark Romantic Countdown

The countdown nears its end, with five more essays added this week. Here goes:

11. Letter From An Unknown Woman (1948)
10. The Shop Around the Corner (1940)
9. Gone with the Wind (1939)
8. The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964)
7. La Belle et la Bete (Beauty and the Beast) (1946)

Interesting that #7 should be given a dual-language header! I say this because I always have to do a double-take when I see #8 referred to as anything other than Les Parapluies de Cherbourg. I’ve no way of checking (IMDB doesn’t help), but I think the movie must have been released in the UK under its “real” title. Certainly that’s the way I always think of it . . . and will continue to do so, since (at least for me) the French title flows far more musically from the lips, which should surely be the point of it all!

Good to see #7 placing so high: a favorite movie of mine.

9 thoughts on “o/t: antepenultimate update on the Wonders in the Dark Romantic Countdown

  1. Once again, many thanks for posting these links. I’m running short of time tonight but will revisit these essays over the forthcoming week. Umbrellas, Letters and La Belle are all favourites of mine.

  2. John, thanks so much for recommending my GWTW piece to Jacqui! But as you mention quite a lot here. I agree with you on Demy’s great musical, but typically US titles go the easy route and UMBRELLAS is what many refer to it here. Your sponsorship of the countdown from start to finish has been simply amazing my friend.

    • UMBRELLAS is what many refer to it here

      Oh, I certainly know this: I think it’s the “official” US title, the movie having been released under that name. It’s just I personally always do a double-take before realizing it’s Parapluis that’s being talked about! — much as you might do a double-take on encountering reference to a 1946 movie called Beauty and the Beast!

  3. OK, that’s it. I have seen “The Umbrellas of Cherbourg” on so many Must-Watch Lists that I’ve got to do something about it.

    P.S. Ah, here it is on Vimeo! Thanks for prompting me to see it.

Leave a Reply

