o/t: Todd Mason’s Tuesday’s Overlooked Films

Yet another valuable roundup of the best writing on the intertubes in the past week about obscure and occasionally not so obscure movies: here’s the place to go. This time there are a few off-topic (but very welcome) extras, such as Todd’s own piece on “some visual artists I went to high school with” — a piece that had a particular resonance for me since I’ve been helping a friend get in touch with international artists for a convention’s anniversary album. It’s been much on my mind how enormously I’m indebted to some of the cover artists I’ve had.

Although I truncate Todd’s title when I’m posting these notices of his updates because otherwise the heading would be cumbersome (and, of course, because it’s the movies that are likely to be the primary interest for visitors here at Noirish), really, as Todd points out in a comment below, “It’s Overlooked Films and/or Other A/V: the films are simply the most common materials dealt with, and television and videos (such as my high-schoolmates’ appearances) and radio, conventions and live theater are all a regular part of the remit.” So now you know.

4 thoughts on “o/t: Todd Mason’s Tuesday’s Overlooked Films

  1. Thanks as always for your kind mentions (and for providing such fine material for listing), but I have to take issue–it’s Overlooked Films and/or Other A/V: the films are simply the most common materials dealt with, and television and videos (such as my high-schoolmates’ appearances) and radio, conventions and live theater are all a regular part of the remit…sad to say that this week is honor of the memory of the radio and literary genius Margot Adler, who died much too young this week at 68…as I’ve noted elsewhere, I didn’t realize how much I’ve been missing her radio work, at very least, till I read her obits yesterday.

    • Sorry — I tend not to put the qualifier into the heading, because it makes it look very cumbersome, but I should remember to spell things out in the, er, exposition. Trouble is, the, er, exposition is usually done in great haste! I’ll make an edit . . .

Leave a Reply

