o/t: the romantic countdown continues at Wonders in the Dark

The two latest movies to be covered are #91 The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946) and #90 Les Enfants du Paradis (1945). I’m not really equipped to comment on the latter piece, by Tony D’Ambra, but I’m impressed by John Greco’s argument that, while there are many reasons why Postman is a less than satisfactory film noir (I couldn’t agree more), it’s far more of a classic if looked at as a romantic movie — with its themes of obsession, ambition, duplicity, overpowering desire . . . When I get the chance, I must try to rewatch it in this new light.

The sprained-wrist saga continues unabated. I become less amused by the minute.

 

2 thoughts on “o/t: the romantic countdown continues at Wonders in the Dark

    • Hope that hand has come around my friend!

      Alas, it’s still causing problems. Tonight I’ve bought myself a six-pack to see if that makes it feel better, so expect blog comments, etc., to get steadily less coherent as the evening wears on.

Leave a Reply

